The Aqua Umbrella QAL

QAL

I am so excited to announce my very first quilt along at The Aqua Umbrella! I hope you will join me as we pick our favorite fabrics to create this fun sampler quilt.

For this quilt we will be using a variety of scraps from our stash. It’s a great chance for those of you who are like me to lighten those overflowing scrap bins πŸ˜‰ Β or if you’d prefer, I have also included the fabric requirements for yardage. This project will be made of twenty-six blocks ranging from 6″ to 24″.

Finished Size: 58″x 60″

Fabric Requirements:

  • 2/3 yd Aqua
  • 2/3 yd Red
  • 3/4 yd Green
  • 1 yd Pink
  • 1-1/4 yd Navy
  • 2-1/3 yd Background
  • 1/2 yd binding
  • 4 yds backing

QAL

Here are the details for the full quilt along schedule:

June 11th – Basic block piecing instructions and Blocks 1,2 & 3

June 18th – Blocks 4,5 & 6

June 25th- Blocks 7,8 & 9

July 2nd- Blocks 10,11 &12

July 9th- Blocks 13,14 &15

July 16th- Blocks 16,17 &18

July 23rd- Blocks 19, 20 &21

July 30th- Blocks 22, 23 &24

August 6th- Blocks 25 & 26

August 13th- Final Layout and piecing instructions

August 27th- Finished Sampler Quilt top link up (with fun prizes to be given to several randomly chosen winners!!)

I’m hoping this schedule will allow plenty of time for everyone to get their blocks done and also allow some late comers to have a chance to join in the fun.

I have created a Flickr group for sharing your fabric selections, block progress and finished quilts.

If you are on Instagram, please take your photos #theaquaumbrellaQAL so I can find you!

I hope you will join me on this quilt along and let me know if you have any questions.

 

Happy Quilting!

-Valerie

6 thoughts on “The Aqua Umbrella QAL

  1. I have a lot of different fabrics in my stash I would rather use than to go buy more fabric. How do you think it will look as a very scrappy quilt? Too busy?

    • Tina, I am using from my scraps to make mine and I’m only 6 blocks from being done. I think it looks amazing (though I might be a little biased 😜).

  2. I have a lot of different fabrics in my stash that i would prefer to use rather than to buy more fabric. How do you think that would work?

  3. Oh my goodness. I just discovered your website and am slightly obsessed with your projects. I may be a little late but I am making this quilt and the fabric rug!

Leave a Reply

